December 27, 2017


The City of Union has begun posting for the job of City Administrator/City Recorder and accepting applications effective December 27, 2017.  The application process is being coordinated through the local WorkSource Oregon office in La Grande.  In order to apply for this position and for further information on the application process job applicants will need to register in iMatchSkills by going online to or by visiting a WorkSource Oregon office.

Closing date for this application process is January 12, 2018 at 5 p.m.


Union County Sheriff Contract Update


City of Union will not renew Union County Sheriff Contract, current contract ends September 30, 2016.

Contract negotiations reach impasse between City of Union and Union County Sheriff’s Department.

The City of Union continues our commitment to work with our community to prevent and solve crimes through existing police services of the Union County Sheriff Department and the Oregon State Police Department.

The City of Union, on behalf of the citizens of Union taxpayers have been attempting to negotiate for the past 9 months a new service contract with the Sheriff’s Department but have reached an impasse over service costs and the basis for those services provided by the Sheriff’s Department.

The city hereby expresses profound appreciation for the high level of care and professionalism rendered by both Union County Sheriff and his deputies and Oregon State Police. Knowing these skilled and dedicated professionals are policing our communities give great comfort as we transition to a similar model of policing provided to our sister communities La Grande, Cove, North Powder, Imbler and Summerville.

For more information contact

City of Union

Sandra Patterson, City Administrator

Office: 541-562-5197

Candidates for Office 2017



August 29, 2016

City of Union

List of Candidates for office January 2017

November 2016 Election

Mayor’s position a term of two years:

Douglas Osburn

Leonard Flint

Council Member position #1, a term of four years:

Susan Hawkins

Council Member position #3, a term of four years:

Claude D. Morgan Jr.

Jay Blackburn

Council Member position #5, a term of four years:

John Patrick Farmer

The above names are as they will appear on the November 8, 2016 ballot, the length of term, and the office they are running for.


Sandra Patterson

City Administrator/Recorder